The Minister Of Internal Affairs Inaugurates New Ngo Bureau Board Of Directors

Wednesday, October 11, 2017

The Minister of Internal Affairs Gen. Jeje Odongo has this morning, 11th/10/2017 presided over the Handover ceremony of the previous NGO Bureau Board of Directors chaired by Ambassador Gabriel Kagwangye to the new one chaired by Hon. Oleny Charles Ojok.

Ambassador Kangwagye thanked the previous board members for working tirelessly together and ensuring that Transparency was at the forefront of their period in service. He equally thanked the Acting Executive Director Okello Steven for working tirelessly with the outgoing board. He pledged his support to the new board and urged the Minister and the new board to ensure that they go ahead with the plans to have the NGO Board premises shifted from the Ministry Headquaters to another place to ensure efficiency in service delivery


The Incoming Chairman, Hon. Oleny Charles Ojok expressed his gratitude to the outgoing board and thanked the Minister for entrusting them with these duties. He promised that the team would make sure that they continue the good work of the outgoing board and even further enhance the NGO Bureau with new ideas to be put into action. He urged his board members to understand their role, provide strategic leadership to the bureau and uphold corporate governance principles that include proper Ethical Conduct, care and loyalty among others

The Minister awarded certificates of Appreciation to the outgoing board and urged the incoming board, just like Ambassador Kangwagye had said; to make sure that they are transparent in their work and ensure that transparency flows through the organisation. He also urged them to carry out a comprehensive audit of the NGOs operating in the country, Confirm and verify their numbers and sources of funding to understand their exact purpose in the country. He also appreciated the role of several NGOs that he described as genuine development partners

The Chairperson of the new Board of Directors is Hon. Oleny Charles Ojok, with Ms Androa Royce Gloria the vice Chairperson. The Members include Mr. Ratib Buga, Ms. Damalie Kironde and Col. Don Mugimba. Other members on the Board representing NGO’s are Mr. John Mulimba and Ms. Margaret Sekaggya

Present at the Ceremony was the Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Internal Affairs, Dr. Benon. M Mutambi who introduced the new board members to the Minister, the Undersecretary of the Ministry Mr. Aggrey Wunyi, the Spokesperson of the Ministry, Mr. Jacob Siminyu and members of the outgoing board.